Saturday, June 9, 2012

Summer Fun

Well, it's finally here again! Summer ! I love Summer, but, with Summer comes boredom for the kiddos. So, I have spent today thinking and pinning lots of ideas to do with my girls for the next 8 weeks.

This is the thing. I am a boring person. Always have been. By boring, I mean it doesn't take much to make me happy. I spent my teen years laying in my backyard, spray bottle of water and a radio tuned to 103 WCIR at my side. Alone. After a few hours doing that, I came in to eat lunch which most often was tomatoes with french dressing, and spent the afternoon watching Gidget and Frankie and Annette. That was my summer from around age 12-18. {Want to add here, my age 13 is now my daughters age 10, scary}, And I don't remember complaining, or being all that bored. But....my kids were not born with my lazy way of living. They want to go and do all day everyday. I blame modern technology. In the 80's, when there was no Facebook, Twitter, cell phone, ipods etc, you never knew what anyone else was doing, or had to look at pics of your friends in their bikini at the beach. Anyhow, so, I made a list of possibilities of things to do that may or may not be approved by my girls. A mother can dream though. So, here in no particular order are my "plans", or really, things to fill in the empty pages in my planner, :).

1. Devotions- a MUST, thinking of doing the book of James
2. Swim- we belong to the YMCA, so it is free, and I get to lie in the sun.
3.  Exercise- This will not be popular with one of my girls for sure. But, we                    are doing it. 
4. Playground/park- This may or may not work for mine, only one likes to flip over the monkey bars. 
5. Bike rides- OK, sounds easy enough, but we live on a road where the speed limit is 45, but folks drive 75, so we have to take our bikes somewhere to ride them, and that will mean Daddy will have to drive them there for us in his truck. Hum....
6. Cook- I think it is about time for my girls to learn a few basic cooking skills. Again, I'm thinking Curly girl will not care for this one as much as Blondie will. 
7. Learn a new skill- This can go with #6, or, if cooking doesn't work out, there is always the skill of dish washing to learn. ;)
8. Movies- This one I love, but what I am not in love with, is the cost of going to the movies. Now, our theater offers kid days, with cheap movies and popcorn, but mine are just to old for the movies they offer. But, all is not lost here, for they also offer Stimulus Tuesday, popcorn and drinks for a buck, and cheaper tix from 4-5:30 pm. 
9. Science Center-Ours offers Free Fridays, but, I personally hate Science anything, but will see if they have anything that isn't boring going on. 
10. Lunch out- not only lunch out maybe once a month, but also, a visit to Coldstone or Krispy Kreme is a huge treat in this house. 
11. Spa Day- This is something Curly will love, but Blondie will not. By spa day, I mean here at home, with the full treatment using lots of things Ive pinned on Pinterest.
12. Journals- This is another definite yes, as we did one several years ago, and I love looking back at what they wrote each night before bed. We just took a pic the first day of Summer, and taped it to the front of a half used notebook they had left over from school.  I am thinking this year, I will add pics or another momento once Summer is over, to some of the pages. 
13. Fishing- This one, Daddy will do with them. Fish stink, and so does fishy water, yuck! But they need Dad time, so there's my excuse to stay home. 
14. Bowling and mini-golf- Have coupons for 1 game of bowling, but shoe rental and putt putt cost, so this is a big maybe.
15. Tye Dye shirts or beach towels- We did this a few years ago at Brit's bday party, and it was great. 
16. Ice cream party or bonfire- This will be the last big thing we will do, once the girls get their teacher letter/schedule in the mail, we will have a few friends over and just hang, make s'mores, play some fun games like flashlight tag, and some stuff I saw at Sydney's field day. 

So, there are my ideas so far. We may only do a few, or we may do them all. Oh, and of course we have VBS, sleepovers, Carowinds, cookouts at the grandparents, and camp at church. That is every year family stuff. What do you have planned for Summer? Or do you just think I'm crazy? Let me know. 


Sunday, February 19, 2012

Some Things I Love

.....and a few I don't. Ok, so, Valentine's Days is over I know, but, I wanted to do this post anyway. I have a few things I am loving right now, and thought I'd share. And, of course no one loves everything, so I'm gonna share some things I am just sick of too. 
  Pinterest- Oh my! If you are not on Pinterest, you need to be. There are so many interesting things on there that I am going to do a post on just that. All the things I have tried thus far. One thing I will share now, Ive learned that there is nothing that 15 mins. and baking soda will not remove. Ha!
  Olives- Yup, olives. I hated olives until about a year ago. I really had never tried them. They just looked strange to me, lol. Now I am constantly reaching for that jar to snatch a few.
  YMCA- I never, ever thought that would be on a list of things I love, but, I am enjoying going more and more. Which leads right into the next new love...
  People Watching- ok, I know I probably shouldn't admit to it, but I am a people watcher. I walk 3 miles on the treadmill and while I have the tv on and am watching it, I can't help but to look around and see what others are doing, watching, wearing, etc. Did you know that even the commercials on Telemundo are not in English!? I've never saw the things mentioned on those commercials. Did you also know that some women do not EVER need to wear spandex pants. {enough said on that} Also, man, I am walking and sweating at walking at 3 mph, and little miss hot shot jumps on the treadmill beside me and takes into running at 8 mph. Yeah, don't like her or her swishing ponytail. {I kid....(not)}. 
  Google- where would I be without Google? Kids ask a question, ask Google, ha! Lately I have been Googling shows the kids used to watch when they were toddlers. They don't seem to remember many of them. Which is funny since some are just burned into my brain. Uggh.
  And of course, these are all just stupid things no one really cares about but me, and yes, I love my family with all my heart. God too! These are just things. Now, onto some I don't like at the moment.
  The Kardashians-I sooo wish these people would GO AWAY! What is with them, why are they so popular? Everytime Im flipping channels, there they are! WHY!?
   Everyone's a Winner, politically correct- . No, everyone is not a winner, no every kid does not deserve to win a trophy or get an award for fear of hurt feelings, yes, it is ok to discipline your child, please. I know  "they" say this  will lead to children being serial killers.  I have never won anything, well there was the Victoria Secret card this year, but that's it, and anyways, I am fine! I have been grounded many times. Haven't killed anyone...yet. I despise the term politically correct. Yuck!
  Tolerance- God does love everyone, he is a God full of love, but he is also a jealous God and one to be feared. God does not love sin, any sin, and we all sin. To say you do not sin, is a lie which is a sin, so there ya go. God lays out rules just as your parents did, and you follow those rules. God also gave us The Bible to study, and learn from, just like you did in school. He expects us to read it, and live by it. All of it. That means when He said something is wrong, it's wrong. Period. Just because it is now "cool" to be tolerant doesn't mean it's right. It's not ok to sin and ask for forgiveness on Sunday then return to that same sin on Monday, etc. I have many friends and family, all of different faiths, and while I love them all dearly, I do not always agree on how they live.
Ok, I am stepping off my soapbox now. If you have made it this far, thanks for reading. I will leave with this great verse for Valentine's Day....

               Proverbs 15:13- A happy heart makes the face cheerful.

Now, I need to remember that verse!

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Valentine's and Birthdays

   Well, I had planned on blogging a few times this week, but life got in the way. Funny how that happens. Anyhow, busy weeks are good. Of course Tuesday was Valentine's Day, my most favorite holiday ever! I'm not even sure why, as I have never really gotten any gifts throughout the Valentine's Days of my life. I made the girls chocolate chip pancakes before school, and gave them their gifts. Brit is super easy, iTunes cards are always a hit with her. Sydney got a Kelly doll dressed in a Vday dress, to go with her other holiday Kellys. And they both got a few pieces of candy. They are not fans of the chocolates you get in the big fancy hearts. I, on the other hand am a huge fan, but that's a most definite no no while on Atkins. So, I had a peanut butter Atkins bar, lol. It was ok, I survived. For supper, it was pizza and donuts for them, chicken for me. They were surprised since I've made everyone eat healthier. But I know it's ok to splurge every now and then. Easy relaxing day.
  Wednesday was a big day ay our house, my baby turned 10! Where did that time go? It seemed she should still be under 5! She had a good day, even if it was a school day. I took her lunch to school, pizza, tater wedges, and green Hawaiian Punch. I also took donut holes for her class to share after recess. I'm sure her teacher just loved me, lol. We haven't had any of her parties yet. Hopefully we will do something for the family soon, and I'm looking at the 2nd Saturday in March for her "friends" party. Im fairly certain we are doing a spa theme if she doesn't change her mind. Here are a few pics of my girl. I still have my Dads computer, so I am just thankful to have the pics to use from it.








  I still am amazed that God chose me to be a momma to two beautiful girls. It took forever to get them here, and now they are growing up way to fast. They are best friends, and that's extra special too. I am just very blessed to be their Momma! So, until tomorrow, goodnight!
  

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Trying To Get Healthy

  Well, as I posted in my New Years post, I am set on getting healthy and getting this weight off! I haven't weighed since my last post, and I am not sure if I have lost anything or not. But....I am staying on track with my low carb, and eating lots of chicken and veggies. It's going well! I have been walking somewhere from 1 to 2.5 miles a day, outside since it's pretty, at the Ymca. For some reason, I can walk longer if I'm outside? Strange. I will say though, checking labels, buying the right foods, and finding good buys on those foods has proven a job itself.
   I mentioned I hurt my hip last post. Well, I am going to the chiro 3 times a week, and it is doing better. I have a great chiro, and he has a new patient class for well, all the new patients. Technically, I'm not a new patient, but I never went to the class. The mere thought of sitting still for a few hours sends terror through me. If you have ADD, you know what I mean. However, I was so into what he had to say. He brought up a lot about healthy eating and exercise. A lot about the additives in foods, drinks, and vitamins too. Just a few things he touched on were red dyes, aspertame, glycol, and sodas. I won't go into it all here, but, you really should google the effects of these things to your body. Something he said that really stuck with me, and you may or may not believe this, but, he said there are so many people who say oh I'm sick, it runs in my family, or it's hereditary. He said think about it, if your grandmother fried all her foods, didn't exercise or just eat right in general, than chances are, your mother did not either. And, if your mother ate out, took you out for fast food all the time, then you are most likely doing the same, and so will your kids. Now, I thought, well, I do stay feeling bad a lot, but my mother and her mother don't. Then it hit me, my mother never has been a fast food fan, she has always exercised, ate right, etc. She also did not take us out to eat all the time. She's 60, and my dad 61, and can run circles around me any day! But, "I" have ate out, ate wrong, not always exercised, and I am teaching those ways of life to my children, and I am sure that's how they would raise their children. Therefore, it stopped that night. NO MORE! We have started a new eating plan here, and guess what, no one has really complained. It is hard with my oldest being such a picky eater and not liking any meat. She has never, ever eaten red meat. So, she will get lots of fruits and whole grains. I also got a call from our lovely dr that my hubbys cholesterol is not good at all. Now, he is going to take some working on. He loves red meat, milk and Mtn Dew. But, I am sure with enough nagging, I can persuade him to turn things around. 
  I also decided to check several fast food sites and read their nutritional info. Oh wow at the sodium in  everything! And, I thought the grilled chicken or salads were safer than the burgers. Nope, not at all. You should google that too, lol!
                                                                               linklink             Ok, enough on that stuff. On the home front, both girls made A honor roll, and Britany and several of her BFFs  made Junior Beta Club. I am so proud of them both!Both girls had a sweet friends bday party on Friday and had alot of fun. Ms Priss  went with her BFF to a museum to have an American Girl tea party! She had a blast! Brit's youth group had a Super Bowl Party Sunday evening and she really enjoyed that. Sydney's birthday is less than 2 weeks away! She is getting excited.  Hope everyone has a blessed week!

Friday, January 27, 2012

Some Things I've Learned....

Just a few things I have realized since I decided to blog. I am a BORING person, lol. Seriously! My intentions were to blog daily. But, when you do the same boring stuff day after day, there is just nothing to talk about.
I have started back on a low carb diet, and have lost 10 pounds in less than 2 weeks. Which is great. I chose low carb because of my PCOS, it seems to work best. Now to be able to stick with it. I also made it to the gym and walked 2.5 miles, and then came home and hurt my hip by falling, tripping, whatever you want to call it, out the back door! I had to make a trip to my lovely chiropractor the next day and I learned I have a really messed up neck and hip. Why oh why does every dr I see tell me how messed up something is on me? Gee whiz! Id love to have a reset button.
I also am not missing Facebook at.all. I thought it would be a hard habit to break, but, since I just replaced it with Pinterest { ;) , all is well. Ah, Pinterest! Whoever thought that up is just a genius! I mean, I can pin away my day, and feel like I have accomplished so much! Ha! I have tried several things that I have pinned, and some have worked, some have not. Oh well. I have lots of things pinned that have helped me get cleaned and organized around this place. Now to just keep it that way, which may be hard with a messed up neck and back. Sigh....
The girlies had Monday and Tuesday off, and each had a friend over, so we went to the mall. My oldest can go right in, get what she wants, and is ready to leave. So much like her Daddy. Now, my youngest and her BFF had THE BEST time! And I did just watching them. They tried on every stitch of makeup in Victorias Secret. {Don't criticize} That was such a blast! We also touched everything in Justice, Claire's and Bath and Body Works. I found out to late that Penney's now has Sephora! We will most definitely be going back to test their makeup as well!
Britany bought a moustache necklace and a pair of sweats and was happy. No makeup or glitter for her!
Right now, everyone is in bed and I suppose that is where I shall head as well. No plans for the weekend. Maybe to Hob Lob tomorrow to look at birthday ideas for Sydney. Zebras and lime green! woohoo!
Everyone have a great weekend!

Saturday, January 7, 2012

New Year Lots To Do

I am quite a bit behind on posting my New Years post. I have had to sit and really think what I wanted to change this year, I have made many, many resolutions in the past, and have kept very few. So, for 2012, Ive decided to call this My 2012 To Do List. I am hoping that it will be a bit easier to keep up my list if I post it for all to see. So, without further ado, my list....
1. Get healthy! Not only by losing weight, but get my mind healthy too. I have dealt with numerous health struggles all of 2011, and I am set that this isn't happening this year. By eating right, exercising, having a bit of "me" time, and getting rid of stressors, I'm hoping to accomplish this.
2. More Bible time, this also has went by the wayside these past few months. Definitely, this is a must!
3.More family time, time with my kids, hubby, and parents, hopefully my brother too.
4. Find a job. I have a few small jobs that I love, but I really need something to come along. I've had enough sitting around.
5.Be a better friend, be less judgemental.
6. Be better with finances,
7. Accept my flaws, if I cant change it, I need to accept that. And not worry what others may think.
8.Be kinder to strangers, smile more often if someone looks upset. It may help that person have a better day.
9. Blog often.
10. Rid myself of as much stress as possible.
Number 10 brings me to my cute elephant fairy, if something doesn't make me happy, why do I continue to do it??? I was asked this question by my husband a few nights ago when I was on Facebook and was upset again by something some "friend" had posted. So, you know what? I deleted my page, right then and there, just did it. And I feel good about it. Not to say I won't miss a few friends, especially since most of them live far away and I never see them. So, until I figure out how to be able to be on there, and be less judgemental, and have hurt feelings, it's gone. I am still just floored at the way people sling mud on there, grown ups at that! Just not worth it.
Ok, so, Monday starts my new lifestyle, eating well, exercising, lots of scripture, lots of loving on my family, and tons and tons of prayer. I hope everyone has a great 2012!

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Tennesee Toby Mac and Tears


Happy New Year! I hope everyone has a very blessed year. I plan to blog my 2012 goals, but, in all honesty, I haven't figured them all out yet. So, I've decided until then, I'd share a bit from this past week.
Britany left on Thursday to go to Tennesee with her youth group to a Xtreme Winter Conference. They saw Toby Mac, David Crowder, Switchfoot, and a few others. They also heard good speakers.
It was very hard for me to let her go off that far without me, but, I knew she was in good hands with Pastor Kyle and the other chaperones. I talked to her often, and she was having a really good time. I am so thankful for our church, for our youth, the chaperones and for Pastor Kyle and his wife Allie stepping up to lead our youth until we get a permanent youth pastor.
I shed a few tears while she was gone, not because I missed her, ( I did miss her), but because I am just so blown away by who she has become. I remember when she was in Kindergarten, I was called in for several meetings that all started with her teacher letting out a big sigh and rubbing the bridge of her nose. Any mom knows what comes after that. So, everyday, Id whisper a prayer that she would just go with the flow, be like the other kids, for her to quit trying to tell others what to do, etc. It didn't help, but as she grew older,she did become better with the rules, and the teacher talks were much better. I was thinking about those prayers I prayed back then, it seems like just yesterday, and thought of how I have completely reversed those words to God now that she is in middle school. My prayers now are Lord, help my daughter to take a stand for you, help her not try to fit in and be like everyone else. Help her to stand up for herself and speak out if someone uses your name in vain, or hurts a friends feelings. So, I guess God used all that headstrongness, is that even a word, for good, and I couldn't be prouder. She is everything I wanted to be at her age, outgoing, loving, a great organizer, sweet as can be, has tons of friends and isn't afraid to speak up for herself or others. That was never me, and probably never will be. But, Im just happy to be mom to this girl, who is proud to be a "Jesus Freak" too!
If you haven't heard the song, you should check it out. Here is the chorus.
What will people think, when they hear that I'm a Jesus Freak
What will people do when they find that it's true
I don't really care if they label me a Jesus Freak
There ain't no disguising the truth.- Jesus Freak- Toby Mac