.....and a few I don't. Ok, so, Valentine's Days is over I know, but, I wanted to do this post anyway. I have a few things I am loving right now, and thought I'd share. And, of course no one loves everything, so I'm gonna share some things I am just sick of too.
Pinterest- Oh my! If you are not on Pinterest, you need to be. There are so many interesting things on there that I am going to do a post on just that. All the things I have tried thus far. One thing I will share now, Ive learned that there is nothing that 15 mins. and baking soda will not remove. Ha!
Olives- Yup, olives. I hated olives until about a year ago. I really had never tried them. They just looked strange to me, lol. Now I am constantly reaching for that jar to snatch a few.
YMCA- I never, ever thought that would be on a list of things I love, but, I am enjoying going more and more. Which leads right into the next new love...
People Watching- ok, I know I probably shouldn't admit to it, but I am a people watcher. I walk 3 miles on the treadmill and while I have the tv on and am watching it, I can't help but to look around and see what others are doing, watching, wearing, etc. Did you know that even the commercials on Telemundo are not in English!? I've never saw the things mentioned on those commercials. Did you also know that some women do not EVER need to wear spandex pants. {enough said on that} Also, man, I am walking and sweating at walking at 3 mph, and little miss hot shot jumps on the treadmill beside me and takes into running at 8 mph. Yeah, don't like her or her swishing ponytail. {I kid....(not)}.
Google- where would I be without Google? Kids ask a question, ask Google, ha! Lately I have been Googling shows the kids used to watch when they were toddlers. They don't seem to remember many of them. Which is funny since some are just burned into my brain. Uggh.
And of course, these are all just stupid things no one really cares about but me, and yes, I love my family with all my heart. God too! These are just things. Now, onto some I don't like at the moment.
The Kardashians-I sooo wish these people would GO AWAY! What is with them, why are they so popular? Everytime Im flipping channels, there they are! WHY!?
Everyone's a Winner, politically correct- . No, everyone is not a winner, no every kid does not deserve to win a trophy or get an award for fear of hurt feelings, yes, it is ok to discipline your child, please. I know "they" say this will lead to children being serial killers. I have never won anything, well there was the Victoria Secret card this year, but that's it, and anyways, I am fine! I have been grounded many times. Haven't killed anyone...yet. I despise the term politically correct. Yuck!
Tolerance- God does love everyone, he is a God full of love, but he is also a jealous God and one to be feared. God does not love sin, any sin, and we all sin. To say you do not sin, is a lie which is a sin, so there ya go. God lays out rules just as your parents did, and you follow those rules. God also gave us The Bible to study, and learn from, just like you did in school. He expects us to read it, and live by it. All of it. That means when He said something is wrong, it's wrong. Period. Just because it is now "cool" to be tolerant doesn't mean it's right. It's not ok to sin and ask for forgiveness on Sunday then return to that same sin on Monday, etc. I have many friends and family, all of different faiths, and while I love them all dearly, I do not always agree on how they live.
Ok, I am stepping off my soapbox now. If you have made it this far, thanks for reading. I will leave with this great verse for Valentine's Day....
Proverbs 15:13- A happy heart makes the face cheerful.
Now, I need to remember that verse!
Sunday, February 19, 2012
Thursday, February 16, 2012
Valentine's and Birthdays
Well, I had planned on blogging a few times this week, but life got in the way. Funny how that happens. Anyhow, busy weeks are good. Of course Tuesday was Valentine's Day, my most favorite holiday ever! I'm not even sure why, as I have never really gotten any gifts throughout the Valentine's Days of my life. I made the girls chocolate chip pancakes before school, and gave them their gifts. Brit is super easy, iTunes cards are always a hit with her. Sydney got a Kelly doll dressed in a Vday dress, to go with her other holiday Kellys. And they both got a few pieces of candy. They are not fans of the chocolates you get in the big fancy hearts. I, on the other hand am a huge fan, but that's a most definite no no while on Atkins. So, I had a peanut butter Atkins bar, lol. It was ok, I survived. For supper, it was pizza and donuts for them, chicken for me. They were surprised since I've made everyone eat healthier. But I know it's ok to splurge every now and then. Easy relaxing day.
Wednesday was a big day ay our house, my baby turned 10! Where did that time go? It seemed she should still be under 5! She had a good day, even if it was a school day. I took her lunch to school, pizza, tater wedges, and green Hawaiian Punch. I also took donut holes for her class to share after recess. I'm sure her teacher just loved me, lol. We haven't had any of her parties yet. Hopefully we will do something for the family soon, and I'm looking at the 2nd Saturday in March for her "friends" party. Im fairly certain we are doing a spa theme if she doesn't change her mind. Here are a few pics of my girl. I still have my Dads computer, so I am just thankful to have the pics to use from it.
I still am amazed that God chose me to be a momma to two beautiful girls. It took forever to get them here, and now they are growing up way to fast. They are best friends, and that's extra special too. I am just very blessed to be their Momma! So, until tomorrow, goodnight!
Wednesday was a big day ay our house, my baby turned 10! Where did that time go? It seemed she should still be under 5! She had a good day, even if it was a school day. I took her lunch to school, pizza, tater wedges, and green Hawaiian Punch. I also took donut holes for her class to share after recess. I'm sure her teacher just loved me, lol. We haven't had any of her parties yet. Hopefully we will do something for the family soon, and I'm looking at the 2nd Saturday in March for her "friends" party. Im fairly certain we are doing a spa theme if she doesn't change her mind. Here are a few pics of my girl. I still have my Dads computer, so I am just thankful to have the pics to use from it.
I still am amazed that God chose me to be a momma to two beautiful girls. It took forever to get them here, and now they are growing up way to fast. They are best friends, and that's extra special too. I am just very blessed to be their Momma! So, until tomorrow, goodnight!
Tuesday, February 7, 2012
Trying To Get Healthy
Well, as I posted in my New Years post, I am set on getting healthy and getting this weight off! I haven't weighed since my last post, and I am not sure if I have lost anything or not. But....I am staying on track with my low carb, and eating lots of chicken and veggies. It's going well! I have been walking somewhere from 1 to 2.5 miles a day, outside since it's pretty, at the Ymca. For some reason, I can walk longer if I'm outside? Strange. I will say though, checking labels, buying the right foods, and finding good buys on those foods has proven a job itself.
I mentioned I hurt my hip last post. Well, I am going to the chiro 3 times a week, and it is doing better. I have a great chiro, and he has a new patient class for well, all the new patients. Technically, I'm not a new patient, but I never went to the class. The mere thought of sitting still for a few hours sends terror through me. If you have ADD, you know what I mean. However, I was so into what he had to say. He brought up a lot about healthy eating and exercise. A lot about the additives in foods, drinks, and vitamins too. Just a few things he touched on were red dyes, aspertame, glycol, and sodas. I won't go into it all here, but, you really should google the effects of these things to your body. Something he said that really stuck with me, and you may or may not believe this, but, he said there are so many people who say oh I'm sick, it runs in my family, or it's hereditary. He said think about it, if your grandmother fried all her foods, didn't exercise or just eat right in general, than chances are, your mother did not either. And, if your mother ate out, took you out for fast food all the time, then you are most likely doing the same, and so will your kids. Now, I thought, well, I do stay feeling bad a lot, but my mother and her mother don't. Then it hit me, my mother never has been a fast food fan, she has always exercised, ate right, etc. She also did not take us out to eat all the time. She's 60, and my dad 61, and can run circles around me any day! But, "I" have ate out, ate wrong, not always exercised, and I am teaching those ways of life to my children, and I am sure that's how they would raise their children. Therefore, it stopped that night. NO MORE! We have started a new eating plan here, and guess what, no one has really complained. It is hard with my oldest being such a picky eater and not liking any meat. She has never, ever eaten red meat. So, she will get lots of fruits and whole grains. I also got a call from our lovely dr that my hubbys cholesterol is not good at all. Now, he is going to take some working on. He loves red meat, milk and Mtn Dew. But, I am sure with enough nagging, I can persuade him to turn things around.
I also decided to check several fast food sites and read their nutritional info. Oh wow at the sodium in everything! And, I thought the grilled chicken or salads were safer than the burgers. Nope, not at all. You should google that too, lol!
linklink Ok, enough on that stuff. On the home front, both girls made A honor roll, and Britany and several of her BFFs made Junior Beta Club. I am so proud of them both!Both girls had a sweet friends bday party on Friday and had alot of fun. Ms Priss went with her BFF to a museum to have an American Girl tea party! She had a blast! Brit's youth group had a Super Bowl Party Sunday evening and she really enjoyed that. Sydney's birthday is less than 2 weeks away! She is getting excited. Hope everyone has a blessed week!
I mentioned I hurt my hip last post. Well, I am going to the chiro 3 times a week, and it is doing better. I have a great chiro, and he has a new patient class for well, all the new patients. Technically, I'm not a new patient, but I never went to the class. The mere thought of sitting still for a few hours sends terror through me. If you have ADD, you know what I mean. However, I was so into what he had to say. He brought up a lot about healthy eating and exercise. A lot about the additives in foods, drinks, and vitamins too. Just a few things he touched on were red dyes, aspertame, glycol, and sodas. I won't go into it all here, but, you really should google the effects of these things to your body. Something he said that really stuck with me, and you may or may not believe this, but, he said there are so many people who say oh I'm sick, it runs in my family, or it's hereditary. He said think about it, if your grandmother fried all her foods, didn't exercise or just eat right in general, than chances are, your mother did not either. And, if your mother ate out, took you out for fast food all the time, then you are most likely doing the same, and so will your kids. Now, I thought, well, I do stay feeling bad a lot, but my mother and her mother don't. Then it hit me, my mother never has been a fast food fan, she has always exercised, ate right, etc. She also did not take us out to eat all the time. She's 60, and my dad 61, and can run circles around me any day! But, "I" have ate out, ate wrong, not always exercised, and I am teaching those ways of life to my children, and I am sure that's how they would raise their children. Therefore, it stopped that night. NO MORE! We have started a new eating plan here, and guess what, no one has really complained. It is hard with my oldest being such a picky eater and not liking any meat. She has never, ever eaten red meat. So, she will get lots of fruits and whole grains. I also got a call from our lovely dr that my hubbys cholesterol is not good at all. Now, he is going to take some working on. He loves red meat, milk and Mtn Dew. But, I am sure with enough nagging, I can persuade him to turn things around.
I also decided to check several fast food sites and read their nutritional info. Oh wow at the sodium in everything! And, I thought the grilled chicken or salads were safer than the burgers. Nope, not at all. You should google that too, lol!
linklink Ok, enough on that stuff. On the home front, both girls made A honor roll, and Britany and several of her BFFs made Junior Beta Club. I am so proud of them both!Both girls had a sweet friends bday party on Friday and had alot of fun. Ms Priss went with her BFF to a museum to have an American Girl tea party! She had a blast! Brit's youth group had a Super Bowl Party Sunday evening and she really enjoyed that. Sydney's birthday is less than 2 weeks away! She is getting excited. Hope everyone has a blessed week!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)








